Ah, now THOSE I can eat!

Yay! It’s April in New York and the Minneolas have appeared on the fruit stands!

Minneolas occupy a fond place in my heart because they were part of my coming to know New York through Grace’s eyes. When I was getting ready to move here in the spring of 2000 I got to see all the good things she saw in the city. Without her perspective I would have been just an out-of-place country boy noticing the bad more than the good.

And, not for nothin’, Minneolas rock!

They’re seedless, they’re easier to peel than any other citrus fruit and for my money they’re the tastiest.

Since this is a dieting blog and not an “I Love Fruit!” blog, it would be irresponsible of me not to note that, like any food, fruit is not some dietary “Get out of jail free!” card. Too many people make the mistake of saying “I need to lose weight and be healthy. I’m going to eat a ton of fruit!”

Fruit has a lot of sugar. That’s why you like the fruit you like. It may be “good sugar” but it’s still sugar, so if you’re eating more fruit than your body requires for vitamins, you shouldn’t expect to be healthy. For instance, an eight ounce glass of orange juice, depending on the source, may contain an entire daily dose of Vitamin C. Since you should be getting Vitamin C from other fruits and vegetables as well, chugging orange juice will almost certainly do you more harm than good.

The point I want to convey here is this: Do a calorie, vitamin and mineral analysis. When I did one a few years ago I was shocked by what I found. It is the best way to get a handle on what you’re eating relative to what your body needs – and doesn’t need.


Vitamin C Links:
How Much Vitamin C Are You Getting?
How much vitamin C do you need?
Linus Pauling Institute Micronutrient Information Center – Vitamin C

2 Responses to “Ah, now THOSE I can eat!”

  1. Naomi Says:

    I’m getting back to using sparkpeople.com — lots of motivational hooha, but they have an excellent nutrition counter. The only way healthy eating works for me these days is to be obsessively honest about recording my intake and exercise.

  2. theoneifeed Says:

    I will check that out. Thanks! My previous methodology was to use a spreadsheet of my own design for calorie, vitamin and mineral analysis, and to use my iPhone’s excellent “Lose It!” app for calorie and weight tracking. If sparkpeople.com does all that, I’ll use it.

Leave a Reply

