Day Twenty

Well, I sure did get in as much exercise as I could on a day when Grace’s parents were in town. I dragged myself out of bed at 5:00 and briskly hiked about eight or nine of the twelve miles of the Colonial Greenway. Grace picked me up at Weinberg Nature Center and we took a quick stop at home so I could weigh myself and shower. We met Grace’s parents in the Bronx and had a lovely few hours at the Cloisters. I ate quite sparingly during this whole time.

We met some friends for a concert in the New Rochelle Library and then went next door to Cholo’s Kitchen for an early dinner. The meal I had turned out to be everything that I could want on an eat-whatever-I-want day. I am happy to report, though, that I did not finish it. Clearly my capacity is decreasing, because I took enough steak and rice home for Grace or I to make a decent meal of it tomorrow.

After we got back to Larchmont we took a fast three-and-a-half mile walk around the roads and trails to the west, then rounded out the evening with ice cream at Longford’s. You may recall that the place in Rye was also a Longford’s. I didn’t know that there was one in Larchmont until I Googled it tonight. Uh oh.

I’ll be paying for that dinner and ice cream during the next few days, but heck, I just lost twelve pounds in nineteen days. I was overdue for a little splurge, and this was nothing compared to my old eat-whatever-I-want days. I’m doing great.

Tomorrow I’m getting up at 5:00 for the full 12.5-mile hike around the Colonial Greenway. I need to do it very briskly in order to have time to make it to the Mother’s Day brunch for Grace’s mom. So off to bed I go!

Good night.

Leave a Reply

