Extremis

Invincible Iron Man: Extremis, issues 1-6 and a box of Nonni's Biscotti

Invincible Iron Man: Extremis, issues 1-6 and a box of Nonni's Biscotti

I am in the worst mood I’ve been in for at least a month. I slept terribly last night and I’ve had an enormous coal-dark storm cloud rumbling over my head all day. Even finding that I’d lost a pound since yesterday barely made a noticeable dent in my humor. The rational part of my brain is screaming warnings that I need to be careful not to get into some stupid altercation.

I got to work and what was the first thing I saw? An e-mail offering free Dunkin Donuts Munchkins. As if I didn’t have enough to worry about with the free cookies and cakes coming up at the pre-office-move event at 3:00.

Between my mood, and the final barrage of this week’s assault on my diet, today is going to be tough. Very tough. You might even say I’m in extremis.

Extremis, extremis… what does that remind me of? Could it be the six-issue Warren Ellis / Adi Granov series of the same name, which revitalized the Iron Man character in 2005 and began the current volume of Invincible Iron Man? And could it possibly be that, just yesterday when I was cleaning out my desk in preparation for the big office move, I stumbled upon a manila envelope containing those very issues? Why, yes it could! Hello there, beautiful! I’d been wondering where you’d got to!

So I have some awesome comic books that I haven’t read in a year or two to look forward to. But that may not be enough to withstand the 3:00 assault. Never fear, though — I am prepared.

Remember a few weeks ago when I talked about biscotti, and how they could serve as a supplement to prevent me from eating something much worse? Well, I’ve had this box of individually wrapped biscotti in my desk for a few weeks now. I call them my emergency satiety ampules. I haven’t opened the box yet. They are there if I need one this afternoon.

I’m prepared. I can do this.

2 Responses to “Extremis”

  1. Naomi Says:

    Hold fast, brother.

Leave a Reply

