Mirrors

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Today is my first day working at 30 Hudson in Jersey City. I’m very dejected about the commute. However, one small ray of sunshine penetrated my clouds this morning. I was walking around the new building and I couldn’t help but see my reflection in the multitude of reflective surfaces. And I realized that my reflection no longer disgusted me so much that I averted my gaze, as I did when I came here for a meeting a month or two ago.

I’ve lost about eighteen pounds in the last five weeks, burning fat and gaining muscle. Now when I see myself in the mirror I see a guy who could stand to lose some weight, but who isn’t bad-looking. That’s a far cry from unalloyed disgust. I’ve come a long way, and the pride I feel at that is one of the few positive aspects of this day.

If I keep going anywhere near like I’ve been, in another month or two I’ll be proud of my appearance, as opposed to just not disgusted. Something to fight for.

Leave a Reply

