The pint of Schneider Wiesen Edel-Weisse that I’m drinking

“Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh…” doesn’t even come close.

This morning I weighed 219 pounds. I am now halfway to my weight goal.

Later this morning I told my Keane* manager two things: as of the beginning of July, I will not be working at my current location in Jersey City, because I can’t handle this commute; and I can’t work under my current Goldman Sachs manager. He said that he’ll do what he can, but he doesn’t have much hope of my manager agreeing to it. I assured him that I understood that, and that I’m doing what I have to do for my health.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It’s scary and exhilarating, but the exhilaration is winning. I’m looking forward to seeing my manager’s reaction and calmly refusing to budge. These are facts: I can’t do this commute and I can’t work under him. I will not threaten and I will not negotiate. I will simply say it the way it is, which will be relatively easy because I’ve reached the point where I would rather be a janitor than work under him. It’ll be fun to watch the chips fall, at the very least.

Now, as a small reward for reaching my halfway point and for sticking up for myself, I’m savoring a pint of an old favorite. The real reward will be a sushi, beer and sake party next weekend. But for today… here’s to taking the leap.

2 Responses to “The pint of Schneider Wiesen Edel-Weisse that I’m drinking”

  1. kestrelhill Says:

    A glass with you, sir!

    (Make mine iced tea.)

Leave a Reply

