My sprained right ankle

My sprained right ankle

Here’s my view from the motel bed. See that bulge in my right ankle? That’s there because I sprained it yesterday as Grace and I were hiking down Snowy Mountain. I’d spent hours jumping from rock to rock, and then I sprained my ankle on a perfectly level section of trail. I was lost in thought, and I didn’t see where my feet were relative to the trail because of the undergrowth. I planted my foot in exactly the wrong place on the slanted edge of the trail, and as I fell down I heard a telltale snapping sound.

I’ve been more or less freaking out ever since. This is what I’ve been dreading: an injury that has the potential to prevent me from exercising, thereby precipitating yet another episode of weight gain. I can’t have that. I won’t do it. I’m going to do what I can with the leg, and beyond that I’m going to switch over to upper-body exercises as needed while it heals. I’m not going to let it bring me down.

4 Responses to “”

  1. kestrelhill Says:

    Ow, owowow. Sympathies, for the injury, the sucky timing, and the interruption to your exercise regimen.

    I don’t mean to freak you out but– are you sure it’s just sprained? I managed to break my ankle on almost-level ground (stepped onto the edge of a thick doormat) and limped around on it for 2 weeks before going to a doc. Ankles are surprisingly delicate.

    • theoneifeed Says:

      Thanks! It’s definitely not a break. I’ve sprained each ankle before, and this is less severe. The swelling is less, and I’m barely limping. I’m going to be careful, and I’m going to wrap and ice it, but I still plan to do lots of hiking in Acadia.

  2. Quest Says:

    Sorry to hear about your ankle. One thing to consider for exercise is swimming. You may not be able to do it yet, but you will be able to swim before you are able to walk/run comfortably; it’s low impact on you joints such as the ankle.

    • theoneifeed Says:

      Thanks! That’s a good idea. I should look for beaches… WAIT! I can go to Saxon Woods! I don’t know how big the pool is, though. It is probably prohibitively crowded.

Leave a Reply

