Road work

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m sitting here in the passenger seat, trying like hell to rein in my desire to pack an unseemly amount of food into this day. That ain’t what the eat-whatever-I-want day is for.

I got up at 4:00 AM for a walk. I came back and ate a toasted cinnamon raisin bagel with cream cheese. I made tea and enjoyed it with one of the raspberry hamantashen I got from Zaro’s on my way home yesterday. Then I had an oatmeal raisin cookie from the bucket I got at Stop & Shop last night.

After Grace and I got on the road, we split the cheese Danish, also from Zaro’s. Are you noticing a trend? This is what I meant by hoarding: buying a bunch of food in anticipation of an eat-whatever-I-want day, thereby warping it into an eat-everything-I-can day. Not good.

I’ve continued to munch my way through the oatmeal raisin cookie bucket as I sip my way through the thermos of tea. And I’m coming to terms with the fact that I’ve already eaten quite a bit today, and I should *not* eat all the meals I was considering for today. I wanted to have a late breakfast when we reach Oneida. I wanted to have a cookout in the afternoon. And I wanted to have pizza and ice cream tonight.

One of those has to give.

Leave a Reply

