Day One Hundred Three

I got up at 4:00 AM for a walk, and then Grace and I groggily prepared for the trip to Oneida. We had a pleasant drive, arriving a little after 11:00. It was my eat-whatever-I-want day, so by that time I’d already indulged in pastry and cookies and a bagel with cream cheese. Then I had my omelet

In the afternoon I worked off part of the morning’s intake by carrying boxes around. The focus of the weekend was clearing out my old room at the homestead so that our contractor could come in and hang sheetrock. We’re having this done because Stoneleigh, an organization that does free home insulation, is providing us with the sheetrock and the insulation. So I spent over four hours sorting through my and my father’s miscellania, lugging boxes, driving them down to the storage space, and rearranging the contents so that they would fit.

At 5:00 Grace and I borrowed a mower from Al Larmann, one of the main driving forces behind the Link Trail, and drove over to the southeast of Cazenovia to check in on my section of the trail. I did some mowing, but not as much as I’d expected: the DEC had already mowed much of the trail.

We returned the mower and went to receive our reward for our exercise: ice cream at Zems in Canastota. Mmmmmm, turtle sundae! Sooooo good!!

We stopped at Wal-Mart on the way back to pick up some goodies, and back at the homestead Grace and I grilled Hofmann franks and enjoyed them with Howard’s Piccalilli. Then I rounded out the evening with corn chips, salsa, sour cream and guacamole. It was a rather excessive eat-whatever-I-want day, but it could have been worse.

Leave a Reply

