Day One Hundred Fourteen

I got up at 5:30 for a walk, got to work early, and proceeded to have a busy day. I resisted a whole bunch of alluring foods, and had a big green salad for lunch.

Eric and I walked over the 59th Street Bridge and back, then headed to Blind Tiger for my “I’m down to 210!” celebration. I had a chicken quesadilla and delicious beer from Avery, the featured brewer and one of my favorites. I started small so that I could savor more of the beer spectrum; the Belgian white and the American brown were each only about 5.5%. Then I moved up to a Belgian strong ale, and then up further to my favorite: The Czar, a bloody miraculous imperial stout. I finished with Mephistopholes, an insanely well-crafted dark beer that weighs in at 15%.

Eric and I wove our way to Union Square and went our separate ways. I made it home sometime around midnight. It was clear long before then that I’d be paying for my celebration in the morning.

Leave a Reply

