Working through tiredness

Me in front of the little patch of dirt where I'm about to do my second set of jumping jacks

Me in front of the little patch of dirt where I'm about to do my second set of jumping jacks

Ahhhh. That felt good. It hearkens back to the good old days in Millburn, when I was doing calisthenics every night. One day I came home from work feeling so exhausted that I was sure I couldn’t do a workout, but I went ahead and gave it a shot anyway. I was amazed to find that not only did I finish the workout, but I felt more awake than I had when I started! After that, I knew that a vigorous calisthenics routine could get rid of what was in fact mostly emotional stress, and leave me feeling revitalized.

By the end of today’s work day I felt so wrung-out that I doubted my ability to do a workout. But I put my head down and bulled forward, despite those recent instances of such assertions being proven correct. And I was pleasantly surprised: I did a full routine, or at least what counts as a full routine right now. In a few weeks I’ll be back up to three groups instead of the two I did tonight:

200 Jump rope
45 Bench dips
200 Jumping jacks
12 pushups (starting with hands together in a triangle)

200 Jump rope
40 Bench dips
200 Jumping jacks
10 pushups (starting with hands together in a triangle)

Not bad for a guy who’s still a good twenty pounds above his target weight!

Leave a Reply

