Day One Hundred Thirty-Five

This time when the alarm went off at 5:30 I got up and stayed up. I had a pleasant walk which afforded me the aesthetic pleasure of seeing two bunnies, and the physical and mental advantages of getting out there in the morning and getting my blood pumping.

I had a very busy day at work. I know I shouldn’t be letting work cause me the least anxiety, now that I’m about to leave and have no vested interest in the company. But I can’t help it: I have ten years’ worth of experience, and I want to do a good job of getting Dennis ready to replace me. I also don’t want to leave my users with applications that no one knows how to fix.

I followed my regular eating schedule, except that I never got a chance to eat my 4:00 meal. When I got home I ate an apple, and then launched into a vigorous workout routine that left me feeling triumphant. Afterward I made myself an egg sandwich, then devoured a big bowl of the delicious tomato and squash stew that Grace had just made.

Now I’m feeling very satisfied with the pleasant burn in my muscles, and very ready for a good night’s sleep. Good night!

5 Responses to “Day One Hundred Thirty-Five”

  1. Jay Says:

    I’ve been watching your progress and decided to do something to make myself healthier (and thus more gorgeous – as if that is possible). I stopped drinking soda pop (Step 1). I then realized that one change wasn’t enough and asked myself “What would Hugh do?”

    Realizing that would cause me extreme agony and likely death, I decided I would baby step my way to Hughdom and started counting calories (Step 2).

    Inadvertently, I also found myself doing some calorie burning exercise within the next couple of days, when I decided I needed a sanctuary from those that eat all the candy and junk they want and never gain an ounce (a/k/a my husband, Christopher). I hauled myself up to the office/guest room/giant-closet-full-of-junk and began cleaning it out, rearranging furniture and turning it into the perfect get away.

    Tonight, I was exhausted when I got home from the office. I laid down for about 15 minutes, all the while thinking in my head, “Hey, you have this great room now, why don’t you use it?” So, I got up, grabbed some speakers I’d been meaning to install, headed up to the room and put on some music – ambient stuff of mixed beats.

    I did stretches and crunches and push ups and more, and danced around the room like I was still 18 and living it up in the middle of the dance-floor surrounded by hot men (only I wasn’t checking anyone out).

    I’ve decided to make it a bit of a routine as I work my way to a more fit me (and did I mention a more gorgeous me?).

    My point, Hugh, is that you’re story has inspired me. -6.5lbs and counting.

    xoxo

    • theoneifeed Says:

      Jay, I am lying here not only grinning from ear to ear, but choked up a little bit. This means so much to me. Thanks!

    • theoneifeed Says:

      …and congratulations on the not drinking soda, and the cleaning and the exercise! I drink soda, but only on my eat-whatever-I-want days and then only with specific companion foods, e.g. pizza, burgers and hot dogs. I think it’s very important to always remember that soda is not a beverage – it’s a dessert.

      Please keep me posted on your exercise – maybe we can help each other stay on track. Now that I’m getting down to a weight where I can actually do some pullups and dips, I want to start switching up my exercises more: maybe dumbells, dips and pullups three nights per week, calisthenics three nights, and one night of rest.

    • theoneifeed Says:

      Oh, and congratulations most of all on the 6.5 pounds you lost! That’s fantastic!

  2. Come out, come out, wherever you are! « The one I feed. Says:

    […] asking this because the other night Jay left a comment that not only made me grin from ear to ear, but got me a little choked up. See, it was more than I […]

Leave a Reply

