Bunnies!!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

That’s one exclamation point for each bunny I’ve seen today.

Today when my phone started vibrating at 5:30 there was no way I was staying in bed. Last night two people left some fantastic feedback on this blog, and I got a pretty good night’s sleep. I am psyched as all get-out. And I got out! Hee!

So here are two of the four bunnies I saw grazing on the grass along Orienta Avenue. They’re skittish little fellas; I can’t get too close without them hopping away. And my little phone camera doesn’t deal well with such low light, so the vaguely rabbit-shaped blobs you see are the best I can do today. But you get the point: my Honey loves bunnies, so thinking of her smiling at bunnies makes me smile; and the thought that I wouldn’t have seen them if I hadn’t gotten up early makes me smile wider.

A few minutes after I saw the bunnies, I passed along the far edge of the golf course, walking through the middle of a flock of Canada geese that was bisected by the road. Their honking pleased me: I don’t know whether it was my good mood, the unhurried and infrequent tempo of the honking, or a genuine good will in the hearts of the geese, but as far as goose honking can sound amiable, it did.

As I left the honking behind I heard the shrill, screeching call of a bird hidden somewhere in the trees ahead. One of these days I need to learn some bird calls.

Now I’m home, and I’ve already got those stories under my belt at a time of day when I’d otherwise just be blearily rising. Next time I think about turning off the alarm and going back to bed, I’ll tell myself those stories.

2 Responses to “Bunnies!!!!”

  1. Beth Says:

    I’ve been exercising with the Tai Chiers at the local park. It’s great, and I hope I can keep going once classes start. I am sooooo glad you saw the bunnies! I am hoping for some sightings later this month if I get a day out of the city. Wish me luck and carry on with your healthy self! Kisses to Gracie.

    • theoneifeed Says:

      Beth! It’s great to hear from you! I need to send you a postcard.

      I’m happy to think of you practicing Tai Chi. Keep me posted on what that’s like.

      I see bunnies around the golf course and along the Colonial Greenway all the time. I hope that my mental image of the French countryside holds true, and you won’t be able to toss a croissant without hitting a coney.

Leave a Reply

