The Whole Foods cheesecake and Dunkin Donuts Munchkins that I’m not eating

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What awaits me on the tables in the Manhattan office today? What comestibles are poised, yearning to slide down my esophagus and into my belly as salmon yearn for their upstream pools?

Wow. Not bad: a cheesecake from Whole Foods and a box of Munchkins from Dunkin Donuts.

That cheesecake looks really good. But it’s not difficult to resist at this point. I know just how good it would feel to eat several slices, and it can’t begin to compare to the thrill of seeing my old face reemerge from the flab, and feeling my old vigor returning.

I’m going to reach my target weight. I’m not going to say that nothing will stop me — not because it would be tempting fate, but because such self-assuredness may be part of what caused my fall in the first place. But I will say that if anything stops me, it’ll have to be a damned sight more powerful than that cheesecake.

Leave a Reply

