Come out, come out, wherever you are!

Hi there!

Hi there!

Well hello there!

Yeah, I’m talkin’ to you! I look at my blog stats so I know you’re there, reading but not commenting. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m just as pleased as a big pleased thing to know that you’re taking the time to read this. But won’t you consider making yourself known?

I’m asking this because the other night Jay left a comment that not only made me grin from ear to ear, but got me a little choked up. See, it was more than I ever expected. I started this blog as a desperate attempt to extract myself from a hole. The most I ever hoped for was to use the public eye to enforce my focus and discipline. I never seriously thought I’d inspire anyone, yet here was a reader telling me I’d inspired him.

I’m not fishing for complements — honestly, one story like Jay’s was enough to satisfy me for a long time. It’s just that I’d love to hear from you. Because if you’re reading this, there’s a good chance that what I’m saying resonates with you. Maybe you feel like I did a few months ago: depressed and confused, wondering why I was unable to act upon what I knew was good for my body and spirit.

Neil gave me a little nudge that magically started this ball rolling. The blog stats give me another little nudge by letting me know that there are people reading at all. Reader feedback gives a magical nudge, because then I can feel us helping each other: I gave Jay a little nudge, and by telling me his story he nudged me right back, and that gave me more energy, which I then shared with my readers… you get the picture.

So give me a nudge. I promise you I’ll return it, and some of my other readers probably will too. Heck, maybe we can have a little group of nudgers. And if you’re sitting there thinking that you can’t do what I did… well, I gotta tell ya, I’d just about given up hope myself.

And then someone gave me a nudge.

4 Responses to “Come out, come out, wherever you are!”

  1. kestrelhill Says:

    Hi again! *waves*

    It’s been a rough summer, I fell off the wagon hard, but I’m trying not to beat myself up too much about it. Tomorrow (OK, next Tuesday) is another day and all that.

    My best-friend-who-moved-away and I are going to work on our weight and exercise issues together long distance, and we’re going to use your blogging method to encourage each other. So there’s something you’ve inspired!

    • theoneifeed Says:

      Hi!

      I sure know how it feels to fall off the wagon. In my case, the most important factor that allowed me to get back on was the cultivation of emotional transmissibility: the ability to remember, even during the bad times when it feels like I’ll never get out of the hole, that I *am* in a temporary emotional state and things *are not* objectively hopeless. Carrying that bubble of remembrance of another emotional state has acted as a seed. I suppose you could call it faith.

      Thank you for the story! It makes me feel good to hear this! Please keep me posted on your progress with your friend.

  2. Joe Check Says:

    Since you asked for comments: As you know, I read all your blog entries. In May, a Doc I saw concerning apnea suggested that I lose 10 pounds. This has happened. I attribute this to the influence of Betty’s food plan, my own 12 step orientation, and your one-day-at-a-time blog.

    You are rigorously honest. You have the courage to change the things you can. I think you have realized you cannot do this alone. I was skeptical about your “eat whatever” days, but I give you credit for sharing what you planned to eat ahead of time. The key to your succes is mutual help.

    • theoneifeed Says:

      Congratulations on losing those ten pounds! I’m proud that I’m involved. It always heartens me, knowing that you’re reading.

      Yeah, the eat-whatever-I-want days are the diciest part of the diet. I believe that they’re necessary, but they are very easy to abuse. That’s why I’ve worked so hard on revisiting what they mean, and on not allowing myself scope creep.

      You’re right about help, and knowing that I can’t do it alone. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how I seem to have traded self-assuredness for wisdom. I’ve fallen from grace too many times to have my old confidence, but it’s the recognition of my flaws that will, hopefully, allow me to keep on the path this time.

Leave a Reply

