The brownies I’m not eating at Adirondack Bean-To

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Grace and I made a few stops on the way to Giant Mountain. First there were the spider webs glistening in the morning sun in the marshy area next to Raquette Lake. Well, I had to get some shots. So we stopped at Greco’s Diner, grabbed some egg sandwiches to go, and high-tailed it back to the photo op. I got some great shots that I’ll post as time allows.

Since it was no longer my eat-whatever-I-want day, I refrained from getting home fries or bacon from Greco’s, and settled for two eggs with cheddar on an English muffin. With that first bit of temptation avoidance complete, I unknowingly headed on to my second one.

While passing through Saranac Lake we looked around for a place where I could grab a cup of tea and use the bathroom. We stumbled upon The Adirondack Bean-To, which turned out to be a gem.

Grace and I were both struck by the kindness and friendliness of the man running the counter. I got a cup of Earl Grey and Grace got a cup of coffee that she raved about.

What I did not get was one of the brownies you see in the picture. They looked delicious. The fight between the disciplined me, and the me who insisted that I was about to hike a high peak and so I deserved it, was a close-run thing for a few minutes. But I walked out of there with just the Earl Grey. Go me!

Leave a Reply

