Day One Hundred Forty-Three

I got up at 5:30 and took my standard walk around the golf course. I don’t enjoy the burgeoning darkness, but on the other hand the mornings are becoming pleasantly cool.

I took the 7:26 Metro North from Larchmont, transferred to a shuttle at Grand Central, transferred again at Times Square to a 2/3, and walked south and west to the ferry at World Financial Center. It’s the second-to-last time I’ll have to do that.

I bought two round-trip ferry tickets and used one for my trip to Jersey City. I spent the day doing my best to prepare my co-workers for my absence. I kept telling myself that I had no reason to take one lick of anxiety on my shoulders. It didn’t do much.

What did help significantly was a conversation with Neeraj, the co-worker I’m most fond of. I had the opportunity to take him aside and say that I haven’t talked about my departure because it’s been painful. We started talking, and he told me that not only does he feel the same way about my boss, he just gave Keane his two-week notice for his engagement at Goldman Sachs! And the rest of my department is just as fed up! Hee.

I worked until 5:00, and made my way home by ferry, foot and rail. I launched into another calisthenics routine, albeit with a different result than the previous night’s efforts. I was just about ready to collapse. The stess of this last week at work is draining me. I’m not sure whether I’ll have the energy for that planned third calisthenics routine tomorrow night.

I followed my diet strictly today, eating an egg and cheese sandwich at 7:00, a Zone Bar with my 10:00 tea, half of a delicious salad with spinach and roasted vegetables and fruit and nuts and such at around 1:40, the other half of the salad at 4:00, and another egg and cheese sandwich at 7:00. Oh, and an apple, two oranges, and a big serving of steamed broccoli with a few cheese shavings.

One more day.

Leave a Reply

