Day One Hundred Forty-Eight

I got up at 5:30 for my regular walk. I didn’t notice any bunnies, but the mist was a visual treat. During the walk, I started occupying my hands with grip exercises. This will come in handy for the lifting exercises I intend to do, and for giving massages.

For breakfast I had my regular sandwich: one egg and half an ounce of cheese on one slice of dry whole wheat toast. I know it was a half ounce of cheese because I recently took a fresh 8-ounce brick and cut it into sixteen roughly equal pieces. I wanted to see if It was being accurate in the servings I’ve been doling out to myself. As it turns out, I’d been a little bit generous. The moral of the story is “Measure your portions.”

After breakfast I drove to the DMV and finally finished the task Grace and I have been trying in vain to get done for… well, you probably wouldn’t believe for how long. After all the trips we’ve made to the DMV, I could hardly believe it when, five minutes after getting to the front of the line, I was walking away with my new registration and plates. Finally that task is off my TO DO list!

When I got back I started laundry, removed my old New Jersey license plates, mounted the shiny new New York plates, removed the old registration, scrubbed the gunk off the window, put on the new registration sticker, and had my Zone Bar with tea. Wow. I can hardly believe it’s done. Now I need to get the car inspected.

I spent the rest of the day knocking lesser items off my TO DO list: paying bills, housecleaning, that sort of thing. I did not goof off. I figure the lion’s share of my goofing off will come in concentrated form during those two weeks of hiking, beer and barbecue on Mount Desert Island. It’s not that I think I don’t deserve a break; after ten years at Goldman Sachs, I certainly do. And I do plan on watching some Doctor Who and doing some writing for my own gratification during the coming days. But I don’t want to start my post-employment time by lounging about. I don’t know if I have it in me to become Mr. Lazy Unemployed Guy, and I don’t want to find out.

I had a second egg sandwich at 1:00, and as I continued with my TO DO list I pondered what exercise to do. I wanted to get in something strenuous, but I didn’t want to start my calisthenics until tomorrow because I’m experimenting with the weekly Wednesday through Friday routine.

I considered going to Saxon Woods to hop around on the rocks for an hour or two, but I didn’t feel like driving any more. Anyway, I’ve been thinking that since my weight is down to the point where I can do a few dips and a few pullups, I should bite the bullet and start basing workouts on those. So I started with five dips and three pullups and then ran up the one hundred stairs of my apartment building two at a time. I did five or six rounds of these exercises, my number of reps on the arm exercises decreasing to one by the end. All told I did about eighteen dips, nine or ten pullups, and five or six hundred stairs.

At 4:00 I got my bolus of vegetables in: a big helping of steamed broccoli and half a bag of Trader Joe’s vegetable melange. At 7:00, while I was out on the town with Grace, I had another Zone Bar with tea, a Minneola, and a banana.

In short, I got a lot done, followed my diet well, and got lots of exercise. Go me!

Leave a Reply

