Oops.

Oops.

Oops.

OK, so I’m guessing that’s not the oven-safe kind of meat thermometer. No, it would seem to be the other kind.

I’ve been thinking that I need more protein because of all the exercises I’m doing, so when I went to Trader Joe’s today I perused the meat case. I decided on a “Tri Tip Asada Authentica” seasoned beef pack.

Reading the instructions at home, I found that I was supposed to check the internal temperature to know when to remove it from the oven. I found our Whole Foods meat thermometer, which I assumed to be an in-the-over affair. I preheated the oven to 425°, put the meat in the cast iron pan, stuck the thermometer in, put the pan in the oven, hopped in the car, drove to New Rochelle, picked up Grace, zipped back, opened the oven…

…and found the melted thermometer. The beef is great, though: very spicy, but oh so good, and an excellent match for the Rosemount Shiraz Cabernet that I, in ignorance, poured onto it in an uninformed attempt to carry out Grace’s desire for a deglazed pan. Oh well. Darn good eatin’ anyway.

Leave a Reply

