Lots of sugary crap that I’m not buying at Stop & Shop

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At about 4:00 I dropped my car off for an oil change, walked to a local Verizon store to look at Droid phones, and then stopped at Stop & Shop to see if they had Biscotti. Jackpot! They not only had the Nonni’s “Decadence” biscotti I love so much, but they had a bunch of the Oreo Zone Bars that I’ve been looking for. I got two boxes of the former and five boxes of the latter. I now have enough 100-calorie biscotti to last me through weeks of hunger management, and more than enough Zone Bars to last me through two weeks of hiking in Acadia.

Now for what I didn’t buy. Just look at those cookies and cakes. The cookies and muffins and such at Stop & Shop bakery are better than any grocery store baked goods have a right to be. They are very tempting. And the sheer urban sprawl of bakery table after bakery table presents another level of temptation in itself.

“Whew! I made it past the muffins. Oh! Those cookies look sooooo good… but I’m not going to have any. Phew! They’re behind me. OH NO!! Look at those cakes! Lemon bundt cake and cinnamon rolls and cheese danish ring and… ohhhhh, there’s one of those coffee rolls that reminds me of the ones we used to have when I was a kid…”

Well, I made it past the entire bakery. Then, on the way out of the store, I had to run one final gauntlet: the Halloween candy display. Truthfully, it’s not a challenge. At this point, it simply fills me with disgust. This is our excuse for a tradition? Please.

Leave a Reply

