Chicken and Squash Stew

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Here’s the stew I just made, before and after cooking. Below is the recipe. As you can see, it’s quite wholesome. Now, if I can just limit myself to modest portions, I’ll be all set. I seem to have succeeded in this instance; as you can see, I measured myself a one-cup portion, and I seem to be sticking to it. Go me!

Oh, by the way: OM NOM NOM!!!

Chicken and Squash Stew
1 bag trader joe’s boneless thighs, thawed if possible
big butternut squash
4 stalks celery, cut
2 onions, diced
1 cup apple cider
some apple cider in a shallow bowl
salt to taste
plate of flour
garam masala
1 teaspoon chicken stock

wash and cut butternut squash into 1-inch cubes or bite-sized pieces (I leave the skin on, you don’t have to)
Cut onions and celery
load into crockpot on high
heat skillet with not much olive oil.
dredge chicken in cider, then in flour, put in hot skillet to brown
when one side is brown, turn over
when both sides brown, remove to crockpot. (place chicken on top of everything else)
mix chicken broth concentrate into apple cider
pour apple cider over contents of crockpot
sprinkle a small amount of garam masala and salt over chicken
put lid on and cook on high for 3-5 hours, or until chicken is cooked through.e

Leave a Reply

