The bar where I didn’t get a beer

Duck Inn

Duck Inn

During my afternoon walk, I looked through the window of the Duck Inn in Mamaroneck, and was pleasantly surprised to see a familiar tap handle in the shape of a goose’s head and neck. They had Goose Island beer on tap! I’m used to seeing it in Chicago, but not around here.

On the way back, I went in to see what else they had on tap. I was disappointed to find that the goose handle had a “Stella Artois” label. They were just using the Goose Island tap to match the theme of the bar.

Oh well. The bottled beers available from Goose Island aren’t among my favorites anyway; my pleasure stemmed more from seeing a craft brew from Chicago in Mamaroneck than from any actual fondness. But all of this is beside the point: even if they had been pouring Goose Island, I wouldn’t have had any. I’m resolved not to have any beer until I reach my next weight goal, so today I was never going to do anything but window shop.

Leave a Reply

