Good morning, and Happy New Year!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

All right, back to the routine. And to help with that, I’m going to take a picture of everything I eat today, including the sugar that I put in my tea.

So that’s breakfast down. And now I’m going on a walk with Grace and Katherine, and later I’ll be running with Grace and, who knows, possibly doing some calisthenics. But most importantly, I need to keep aware of my eating choices without excoriating myself for the mistakes I’ve made.

It’s a tightrope walk, isn’t it? To overcome my pathology I have to keep my eyes focused on what I want to do. But I can’t define what I want to do without defining what I don’t want to do. So I look at my mistakes, because they compose the pool of real and immediate examples of what I don’t want to do. And to look into that pool is to invite self-loathing.

I need to draw from that pool without despising myself for creating it. I need to look at my mistakes to avoid repeating them. I need to use the tool of introspection without cutting myself on it.

2 Responses to “Good morning, and Happy New Year!”

  1. kestrelhill Says:

    “I need to use the tool of introspection without cutting myself on it.”

    Oh, well put.

  2. theoneifeed Says:

    🙂 Thanks.

Leave a Reply

