Redirecting my energies toward planning

It’s day two of being back on my diet, and I’ve had my small egg sandwich, a cup of tea, and a few nibbles on Gwyn’s fruitcake. Now I’m immersed in planning, not only for the sake of preparing to eat right, but as a means of redirecting my mind from all the food I’d love to be eating.

I just created a “Recipes” folder in my Yahoo mail and moved all the recipes I could find into it. Not only did I find some old family recipes that I’d sent myself over the years, I found some things I’d forgotten about. I’m very excited about one in particular: the Joy of Cooking refrigerator cookies that Grace made back in 2007. She made the butterscotch variant, and the cookies sent me into paroxysms of delight. So now I’ve got something to look forward to that will help me get through this week: making a batch of refrigerator cookies on my eat-whatever-I-want day next weekend.

Another recipe I found was for my mother’s “German Filled Cookies” that she made according to her mother’s recipe. I remember that the filling contains at least apples, pineapples, raisins and cherries; I need to suss out the details with my sister. Here is the recipe for the dough.

4 eggs
4 c sugar
1 c shortening
2 c sour cream
2 tsp baking soda
4 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp salt
2 tsp vanilla
add flour to make a soft dough – 10 or 12 cups

…and then of course there’s the other old family recipe I’ve been wanting to make for years: suet pudding. Next time I’m at the family home, I’ll have to get the recipe from the old black three-ring binder in which my mother kept all her recipes. January is the ideal time for suet pudding.

Now, on to my plans for today. First, I need to get some exercise. Second, I need to get to the store and buy some broccoli, bananas, oranges and biscotti so that I can get back into the habit of strategic satiety via healthy snacking. Third, I need to get some more exercise.

Well. Here I go!

Leave a Reply

