Day Two Hundred Fifty-Seven

Broccoli with sprinkled Parmesan and Romano

Broccoli with sprinkled Parmesan and Romano

I got up earlier today, went on an eight-mile walk with my loaded pack, bought some healthy groceries while avoiding the other thing, and made a round trip to the library which brought my total for the day up to ten miles. In the midst of this I ate an egg sandwich, two Zone bars, one biscotti, a few cups of tea, a big dish of broccoli with a sprinking of Parmesan and Romano, an apple, two oranges, a banana, a big bowl of soup with homemade bread, and a small bowl of boiled butternut squash with no butter.

I’ve had a bit of a headache since the morning walk. That may not sound like a big deal, but it is for me: I get maybe one or two headaches per year. I think I’m detoxing from all the crap I put in my body between Thanksgiving and New Year’s. So I decided to take the edge off with a bit of red wine tonight. Since I don’t enjoy wine the way I enjoy beer, it’s not a slippery slope. I have no intention of making a habit out of it.

So it was a good day. I could’ve done with less soup and bread, but I’m sure my overall calorie balance was soundly in the black.

I’m going to try getting up early tomorrow for a pre-dawn walk. Good night!

Leave a Reply

